I’ve been photographing my jewelry for about 3 years now, changing my methods along the way. Although I’d love to upgrade my camera, and have models; my current product photography is a good, affordable starting point.

Things I Use:
Point and shoot camera- Kodak EasyShare C813  $140
Vanguard VS-82 Table Top Digital Camera Tripod $28
CowboyStudio Table Top Photo Studio Light Tent Kit in a Box – 1 Tent, 2 Light Set, 1 Stand, 1 Case $38
ChainSta
small jewelry bust
backgrounds- solid colored scrapbook paper, or index cards painted w/ acrylic

Improvements I’d like to do at some point:upgrade camera do a DSLR
get more backgrounds gathered, and make bigger versions

11-28-12 -- 008

My Display Tools

11-28-12 -- 007

The Light  Tent Kit did come with a simple ‘tripod’, but I prefer the one I linked. Feels studier to me.

11-28-12 -- 009

My basic Setup, I also move my floor lamp to shine in on the top, and I’ll move the tripod back some.

11-28-12 -- 012

Example of the end result with camera on Macro, zoomed in some, no flash, and on auto settings.

I don’t do any editing on the computer except for cropping.

I love that the light tent came with 2 lights, and is easy to set up. It can be set up on just about any table surface.

I love the Vanguard tripod because its sturdy (it can hold up a DSLR). It’s easy to setup. It’s best to give yourself a little room for the legs, if you have almost a foot of table space between you and the light tent then the legs can spread out and be stable- I do this when using the small bust. You can move the tripod closer into the tent for good close-up pictures.

The best advantage to using a light tent is I can take pictures at any time of day or night- I’m not dependent on the sun.

