1. Tell us a bit about yourself name, location, affiliations, personal stuff.

My name is Amy Chace. I am currently living in Long Island in New York State. I love to start my day with a cup of coffee with flavored creamer. I live with my wonderful boyfriend,Paul Benincasa, who is also an artist. We have two interesting cats, Shady and Thomas. Thomas is a momma’s boy. I adore our little apartment, but can’t wait to have a bathtub instead of a shower stall.

2. Apart from creating things, what do you do?

Well, I tend to get bored easily and need a lot of stimulation so I tend to bounce around a lot in terms of day jobs. Right now, I am working at Old Navy in one of their flagship stores in Manhattan. I am currently working in logistics a.k.a. stock. However, I plan on interviewing for a loss prevention job there soon. The idea of working cases and going on blitzes seems exciting to me.

3. Please describe your creative process how, when, materials, etc.

When my schedule is busy and I have to take the train a lot. I draw on the train. My sketchbook with me all the time. I usually have a baggie with markers and such with me too. Sometimes I sketch the people on the train, but sometimes that gets weird.
I enjoy mixed media a lot. I like to work with vintage sewing patterns because they are so thin and because of that you can see through them a bit and it is kind of like a veil. They also have neat writing/instructions on them and it is an easy way to add visual text. I also love watercolor because I like the various ways the paint can touch and combine, blur and bleed. I love saturated colors in any medium, really.

4. What led you to start creating your art/craft?

Well, genetics really. My mom is a writer and watercolor artist. My father has done a lot with photography. In terms of my more recent venture into aceos, I was led there because my natural inclination is to work small. I also like the fact that such a small piece is like a snipet of life or a snapshot of a moment. My polymer clay rose bouquets just happened. At first they were strips, then they became cabochons. My hands just make them. I just love blending the colors. The endless variation in colors that I can make through varying my blending.

5. How did you decide what medium you wanted to work with?

The mediums sort of choose me. Not a decision so to speak, more of experimentation and some just stick more than others.

6. what aspect of creating your art/craft do you find the most enjoyable?

COLOR and texture. I LOVE to experiment with color and texture. That is the joy! That is the FUN!

7. If you had to choose one other medium in which to display your “creativity”, what would that be and why?

I wouldn’t mind trying Encaustic painting because the texture looks so cool. I also would love to try yarn spinning because of all the color and texture you can create and even more so because of all the things you can add to the yarn! If anyone lives near me that does those things, let me know!!!

8. What handmade possession do you most cherish?

I adore every item that I have purchases or traded for on Etsy.com! I especially love a pink plastic doll face pendant with a little red pearl in the mouth from DollDisasterDesigns on Etsy.com. I call it the baby ball gag necklace, although that is not what the creator calls it. If you visit her shop, tell her I sent ya!

9. Name your top five books, movies, songs/musical groups, and web sites besides Etsy.

I am currently reading my mother’s third book called, Protestant Pulse. It is about a variety of things including my Protestant mother’s time in a Jesuit college (getting her Master’s). Hi-jinks ensue.

I am a sucker for the Harry Potter movies. I love how British the characters are. They could fight a demon,but are polite about it.

I LOVE music. I love Punk music the most. I love the speed and flow of the music and the urgency of the lyrics. I am in a Punk band myself, but do to our possibly offensive nature I won’t name the band here.

10. What are your favorite features on Etsy? What new features would you like to see?

I wish when you return ‘convos’ the original message was in the box like in regular email so you can remember what you are responding to! I would love an easy way to see who hearts particular item.

I love being able to see what other people like (their favorites). I am always suspicious of people who hide their favorites.

11. How do you organize your business? Such as finances, keeping track of supplies and marketing etc?

I go through spurts of organization. My organization is always born of need. WHen something needs to be organized or paid attention to, I do it.

12. How well is your shop doing? How long has it been open? Number of sales? Number of visits?

My shop has been open since Dec. 27th, 2007. I have techincally had 245 sales,but some of those were trades, not sales. I have know idea how my visits. I have the google analytics setup,but unfortunately that program also count my personal visits to my own shop, so who knows…

13. What do you think you’re doing right for getting the sales you have? Or what tips do you have for other Etsy sellers?

I don’t have any idea what I am doing right. I am not chasing sales. I make stuff, if people like it good. If not, then don’t talk to me. I don’t really have any tips for sellers,but I do have a tip for artists: Do what you do. Do what you like.

14. How do you promote your work?
Mostly on Facebook. Sometimes that works. Sometimes it doesn’t.

15. In ten years I’d like to be…
In an apartment with a bathtub.

16. Where else on the net can we find you and your goods? Twitter, blog, Flikr account?
I do have a blog: http://amychace.blogspot.com

