1. Tell us a bit about yourself name, location, affiliations, personal stuff.
   My full name is Ambre Rose Kern, but I go by Rose.  I was so tired of people messing up my first name, and no one can mess up Rose. And it will sound good when I become a grandma, lol.  I live in a suburb in Portland, OR and have been here about 3 years.  I was raised in the south and miss it mostly during the cold winter months here in the northwest. I like how the southern women get dressed up, always have dress slacks and shoes & handbag matching.  If you meet me I am usually dressed up, I feel more comfortable in heels and jewelry then sneakers and t-shirts.  I don’t have any kids and I’m not married, but I’m always happy to be set up with brothers or friends J 
 
2. Apart from creating things, what do you do?
   Is there anything in life except creating?  I used to work in a dental office but got laid off.  So I have been looking for a job and trying not to get board. I am going back to school full time right now at night and still looking for a job in the day.  I like to stay busy all the time so being without a job is killing me. For fun I like to make things out of glass be it glass blowing or torch working. I like to scuba dive a lot, it’s a whole other world down there just waiting to be explored.  I love to travel to new places and see exciting things.  I like to take photographs of places I’ve been or amazing things I’ve seen.  I like learning and would go to school forever if I didn’t have to pay for it.

3. Please describe your creative process how, when, materials, etc.
   Sometimes I will see a piece of jewelry out somewhere and look at it and figure out what I like about it and how I will change it.  There are other times that I will look at my stash and see nothing coming together but a few days later will be looking at it and the ideas come pouring out.  I always have my materials in the back of my head so that if I’m out at a bead show or garage sale I try to keep in mind what will work with what I have at home.  I am an early riser so I like to work in the mornings.  But there have been quite a few times that an idea has come to me late at night an I was so excited that I had to finish it before I went to bed.

4. What led you to start creating your art/craft?
   When I lived in Portland before, I was 10-11 and I babysat for my aunt almost every weekend.  She is a wonderful artist and was always exciting and unique to a 10 year old.  She had beautiful funky jewelry that I loved to look at.  One day she showed me a necklace that she had made and it was so cool that she made it.  So that got me hooked and from there on my babysitting money went to beads.  I created so that I would have great jewelry for special occasions.  That led to friends getting my jewelry as presents.  Not till some coworkers commissioned me to make something for them did I think about selling it.

5. How did you decide what medium you wanted to work with?
   I work with anything that will ultimately become jewelry.  I haven’t had a real “type” of jewelry because I would see a new bead and love it and have to make something with it.  Over the years I’ve slowly whittled down my collection and am starting to be less all over the place.

6. what aspect of creating your art/craft do you find the most enjoyable?
   Of course I like seeing my jewelry on people, but it’s really about using my hands to make something.  I like learning new things and that is why I like crafting.  There is always something out there to learn in the craft world.
   
7. If you had to choose one other medium in which to display your "creativity", what would that be and why?
   I think that I would choose to be a glass blower. I think that glass is so amazing in all its factors.  I sometimes go to a glass studio here in Portland called Aquilla Glass and do torchwork. Torch working is when you take rods of glass and melt them in a flame that is about 3000 and then form lovely pieces of work.  I like to implode colors and make pendants.

8. What handmade possession do you most cherish?
   That’s a really hard thing to choose.  If it was made by me it would be my wedding veil that I beaded when I was 12.  I figured out how to make these beautiful beaded flowers and wanted to have them done and ready, you know, just in case. If it was made by someone else then it would probably be some of the vases and bowls that my dad made many years ago.  I love some of those pieces cause they have always been there in my life.

9. Name your top five books, movies, songs/musical groups, and web sites besides Etsy.
I don’t like to reread a book because there are so many other books out there to read.  So my top authors are…Robin Cook, Dean Knootz, Clive Cussler, Patricia Cornwell, and Wilbur Smith.
Movies…Princess Bride, The Saint, Sleeping Beauty, Man on Fire, The Goonies
Music…Michael Buble, Norah Jones, George Winston, Cranberries, Frank Sinatra
Sites…http://craftgawker.com, http://etsystalker.com, http://craftzine.com, http://www.marthastewart.com, http://www.goodreads.com

10. What are your favorite features on Etsy? What new features would you like to see?
    I love that you can customize your shop, by moving your pictures where you want them. I love the forums and that people aren’t keeping things from each other.  That everyone wants to help one another.  I love seeing others treasuries and wish that I could have fast fingers and get one. I don’t like the sign in for a day, I used to be able to sign in on my computer for days at a time.

11. How do you organize your business? Such as finances, keeping track of 
supplies and marketing etc?
    My family likes to joke that I’m a little like Monk, the TV show, in that I am overly organized.  I like order, with everything in its place.  So all of my finances are in file folders with on my computer or file folder.  All of my supplies are organized in holders in a cabinet.  All of my finished products are sorted by price in a shoe Tupperware.  All of my beads are organized by color, size, and kind.  Then they are organized in different drawers that are only known by me.  All of my paperwork is organized in my computer under a few folders.  Then all my other paperwork is organized in files on my bookshelf.
     
12. How well is your shop doing? How long has it been open? Number of sales? 
Number of visits?
    Well I just opened my shop right before Christmas so I really can’t say that much.  I have had about 12 sales and of course counting.  I am just starting to do some marketing and seeing where that will go.  I’ve had about 3000 visits but that changes all the time when you add new stuff or relist. 

13. What do you think you're doing right for getting the sales you have? Or what tips do you have for other Etsy sellers?
    I think that if you have amazing pictures then you will do well.  There is that old saying a picture is worth a thousand words, and it couldn’t pertain more accurately for Etsy.  I had okay photos but not great.  So I built a light box, learned how to photograph jewelry, and editing helps a lot too.  As an Etsy seller, if you make sure that your photos are awesome, then you will go far I think.

14. How do you promote your work?
    I think that the best way to promote is to wear your product.  And then the next best way to advertize is with friends and family.  They are your best supporters! I like to do craft shows so that people can see my jewelry up close and personal.  I am also on EtsyStalker, I was on Tools4Etsy, my friends blog http://www.thesmiths09.blogspot.com, I go into the chat rooms, I comment on the forums, and I comment on some of the treasuries.

15. In ten years I'd like to be...
    That’s a hard question!  I would love to be selling my jewelry and I’m not sure if I would like it to be part or full time though.  I think that would be the greatest thing.   Married to an amazing man who loves my jewelry and helps me in any way he can. A few kids would be a great treasure to have.  I love to travel so I hope to be to all 50 states (I only have 2 more to go) and to other countries as well.  I hope that while I am traveling that I get to scuba dive in some of those places.  I would love to go back to school and become a teacher. There are so many things that I would love to do in this next decade.

16. Where else on the net can we find you and your goods? Twitter, blog, Flikr account?
    I have a facebook, though it is mostly for family and friends.  I need to make a facebook fan page.  I don’t do a blog cause I really don’t have crazy exciting fun things to say all the time.  If I got one it might be twice a month that you guys hear from me.  I started selling on Zibbet recently and need to post more things. I also just signed up on twitter.  And I am on PicasaWeb. 

Check out her shop!

Also check out this chair she reupholstered at her dad’s shop!

